The 2019 Toyota Prius Prime is associated with 8 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Wheels & Hubs, accounting for 3 reports (38% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 1 certified vehicle configuration spanning 1.8L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 133 MPGe (54 MPG on gasoline) with up to 25 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 8 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 campaign
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Wheels & Hubs (3 / 38%)
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: null MPGe (1 variant • PHEV up to 133 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
1 EPA certified variant (1.8L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations)
Reported Complaints
8
8 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
1
1 official NHTSA recall
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Prius Prime Plug-in Hybrid 1.8L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 145 MPGe (55 MPG) 121 MPGe (53 MPG) 133 MPGe (54 MPG) 25 mi EV (640 mi total) $1,150 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2019 Toyota Prius Prime provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 25 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Toyota Prius Prime.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Toyota Prius Prime models.
View complete 2019 Toyota Prius Prime crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Toyota Prius Prime?

Summary of 8 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
8
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Wheels & Hubs 3 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES 1 complaint
Service Brakes 1 complaint
STEERING,ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) 1 complaint
TIRES,WHEELS 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2019 Toyota Prius Prime problems & component breakdown (6 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Toyota Prius Prime?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #19V544000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC)

Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2019 Lexus LS500, LC500, ES300h, UX250h, LS500h, Toyota Prius, RAV4 HV, 2019-2020 Toyota Prius Prime, and 2020 Corolla HV vehicles. The brake booster pump may fail causing a deactivation of the Vehicle Stability Control system and a loss of braking assist. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 126, "Electronic Stability Control Systems."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Toyota will notify owners, and dealers will inspect and, if necessary, replace the brake booster pump, free of charge. The recall began September 20, 2019. Toyota owners may contact Toyota customer service at 1-888-270-9371 and Lexus owners may contact Lexus customer service at 1-800-255-3987. Toyota's numbers for this recall are K1L/K0L. Lexus' numbers for this recall are K2F/KLF.
View all 2019 Toyota Prius Prime recalls & campaign history (1 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.