The 2024 Toyota Prius Prime is associated with 11 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 2 reports (18% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 127 MPGe (48–52 MPG on gasoline) with up to 45 miles of electric driving range.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 11 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Electrical System (2 / 18%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 1 crash / 0 fire / 1 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: 5 / 5 Stars
  • EPA Efficiency: null MPGe (2 variants • PHEV up to 127 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
2 EPA certified variants (2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations)
Reported Complaints
11
11 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
4
4 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
5 / 5 Stars Overall

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2024 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Prius Prime SE Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 140 MPGe (53 MPG) 115 MPGe (51 MPG) 127 MPGe (52 MPG) 45 mi EV (600 mi total) $1,200 / yr
Prius Prime Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 125 MPGe (50 MPG) 103 MPGe (47 MPG) 114 MPGe (48 MPG) 40 mi EV (550 mi total) $1,300 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2024 Toyota Prius Prime provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 45 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2024 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2024 Toyota Prius Prime.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2024 Toyota Prius Prime models.
View complete 2024 Toyota Prius Prime crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2024 Toyota Prius Prime?

Summary of 11 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
11
Crash Reports
1
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
1
Total Injuries
1

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 2 complaints
Tires 2 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES 1 complaint
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,UNKNOWN OR OTHER 1 complaint
Doors, Latches & Locks 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2024 Toyota Prius Prime problems & component breakdown (9 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2024 Toyota Prius Prime?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V049000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:SWITCHES/KNOBS/BUTTONS

Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2023-2024 Prius Prime, 2023-2026 Prius, and 2025-2026 Prius Plug-in Hybrid vehicles. Water may enter the rear door switch and cause a short circuit, allowing an unlocked rear door to open unexpectedly.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will modify the rear door switch circuits, free of charge. Owner letters were mailed July 13, 2026. Owners may contact Toyota's customer service at 1-800-331-4331. Toyota's numbers for this recall are 26TB03 and 26TA03. This recall expands and replaces NHTSA recall number 24V274. Vehicles repaired under the previous recall will need to have the new remedy performed.
NHTSA Campaign #25V744000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION:DISPLAY FUNCTION

Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2022-2026 Toyota, Lexus, and Subaru Solterra vehicles equipped with a Panoramic View Monitor (PVM) system. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models. A software error may cause the rearview camera to freeze or display a blank screen when the vehicle is in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will update the parking assist software, free of charge. Owner letters were mailed January 2, 2026. Owners may contact Toyota's customer service at 1-800-331-4331. Toyota's numbers for this recall are 25TB13 and 25LB06. Subaru's number for this recall is WRE25.
NHTSA Campaign #24V548000 Active Recall
Affected Component: EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS

Defect Summary: Gulf States Toyota, Inc. (GST) is recalling certain Toyota 2023 GR Supra, 2024 4 Runner, Corolla, Grand Highlander, Grand Highlander Hybrid, Land Cruiser Hybrid, Tacoma, Tacoma Hybrid, 2023-2024 BZ4X, Corolla Cross Hybrid, GR Corolla, GR86, Highlander, Highlander Hybrid, Prius, Prius Prime, Sequoia Hybrid, Tundra, Tundra Hybrid, Venza Hybrid, 2023-2025 Crown, and 2025 Camry Hybrid vehicles equipped with GST accessories. The load carrying capacity modification label may display inaccurate added weight values. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 110, "Tire Selection and Rims."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: GST will mail new labels to owners, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed September 16, 2024. Owners may contact GST customer service at 1-800-444-1074. GST's number for this recall is 24R2.
View all 2024 Toyota Prius Prime recalls & campaign history (4 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.