Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2025 BMW iX is associated with 12 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign in the federal safety database.

The most frequently reported component area is Forward Collision Avoidance, accounting for 2 reports (17% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 76 to 87 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 211–309 miles across 8 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 12 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 official campaign
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Forward Collision Avoidance (2 / 17%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 5 crash / 0 fire / 2 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 76 MPGe across 8 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 BMW iX?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
iX xDrive40 (22 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 89 MPGe 85 MPGe 87 MPGe 219 mi $850 / yr
iX xDrive40 (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 87 MPGe 85 MPGe 86 MPGe 217 mi $900 / yr
iX xDrive50 (20 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 82 MPGe 84 MPGe 83 MPGe 309 mi $900 / yr
iX xDrive40 (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 84 MPGe 81 MPGe 83 MPGe 211 mi $900 / yr
iX xDrive50 (21 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 82 MPGe 81 MPGe 81 MPGe 303 mi $950 / yr
iX xDrive50 (22 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 82 MPGe 81 MPGe 81 MPGe 302 mi $950 / yr
iX M60 (22 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 75 MPGe 79 MPGe 77 MPGe 285 mi $1,000 / yr
iX M60 (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 75 MPGe 77 MPGe 76 MPGe 284 mi $1,000 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2025 BMW iX provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 309 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 BMW iX?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 BMW iX.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 BMW iX models.
View complete 2025 BMW iX crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 BMW iX?

Summary of 12 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
12
Crash Reports
5
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
2
Total Injuries
3

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Forward Collision Avoidance 2 complaints (1 crash)
Powertrain 2 complaints
Service Brakes 2 complaints
Back Over Prevention / Camera 1 complaint
BACK OVER PREVENTION,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE 1 complaint (1 crash)

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2025 BMW iX problems & component breakdown (9 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 BMW iX?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V470000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:PROPULSION SYSTEM:TRACTION BATTERY

Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2022-2025 IX, 2023-2024 I7, and 2022-2023 i4 vehicles. The high-voltage battery cell modules may not have been assembled properly, resulting in stress on the module frame and possible module failure.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace specific high-voltage battery cell modules, free of charge. Interim owner notification letters explaining the safety risk were mailed September 11, 2025. Another notice will be sent once the remedy becomes available, anticipated December 31, 2025Owners may contact BMW customer service at 1-800-525-7417.
View all 2025 BMW iX recalls & campaign history (1 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 BMW iX

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 BMW iX

How many safety recalls does the 2025 BMW iX have?

The 2025 BMW iX is associated with 1 official NHTSA safety recall campaign in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 BMW iX?

NHTSA records list 12 consumer defect complaints for the 2025 BMW iX. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Forward Collision Avoidance, appearing in 2 filings (17% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 BMW iX?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 BMW iX in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2025 BMW iX?

The all-electric 2025 BMW iX is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 211 to 309 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 87 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.