Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2026 Explorer vehicles equipped with a 2.3L engine. The engine connecting rod bearings may seize, which can result in engine failure.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2026 Ford Explorer has zero owner defect complaints and 12 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA testing covers 6 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2.3l 4-cyl and 3l 6-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 19 to 24 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 12 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 19–24 MPG across 6 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Ford Explorer?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Explorer Tremor AWD | 2.3L 4-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 19 MPG | 23 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $2,950 / yr |
| Explorer Tremor AWD | 3L 6-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 17 MPG | 22 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $3,250 / yr |
| Explorer RWD | 2.3L 4-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 20 MPG | 29 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $2,550 / yr |
| Explorer AWD | 2.3L 4-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 20 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $2,650 / yr |
| Explorer RWD | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $2,950 / yr |
| Explorer AWD | 3L 6-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,100 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Ford Explorer?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Ford Explorer.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Ford Explorer models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Ford Explorer?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Ford Explorer problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Ford Explorer?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2025-2027 Explorer and Lincoln Aviator vehicles. An unoccupied driver's seat may recline unintentionally during certain scenarios, such as remote unlock or remote start.
Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2027 Aviator and 2020-2026 Explorer vehicles. The switch for the easy-entry second-row outer seats may bind or stick, resulting in the seats unlatching, tipping, or sliding unexpectedly.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Ford Explorer
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Ford Explorer
How many safety recalls does the 2026 Ford Explorer have?
The 2026 Ford Explorer is associated with 12 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Ford Explorer?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Ford Explorer.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Ford Explorer?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Ford Explorer in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Ford Explorer get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Ford Explorer range from 19 to 24 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.