Defect Summary: Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC (Land Rover) is recalling certain 2021-2024 Land Rover Range Rover Velar and Land Rover Discovery, 2020-2023 Land Rover Range Rover Evoque, 2019-2024 Land Rover Range Rover Sport, 2020-2024 Land Rover Range Rover, 2020 Land Rover Discovery Sport, 2020-2024 Land Rover Defender, 2021-2024 Jaguar F-Pace, and 2021-2022 Jaguar E-Pace mild-hybrid electric vehicles (MHEVs.) The DC-DC converter can fail due to an internal fault in the boost control microchip. A failure of the DC-DC converter will result in a loss of 12-Volt system charging and can lead to complete loss of drive power and exterior lighting.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2020 Land Rover Range Rover is associated with 22 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 5 reports (23% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 17 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3l 6-cyl, 2l 4-cyl, 3L 6-Cyl hybrid, 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid, and 5l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 15 to 24 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 42 MPGe (19 MPG on gasoline) with up to 19 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 22 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (5 / 23%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 5 crash / 1 fire / 3 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 15–24 MPG across 17 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Range Rover Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| Range Rover Sport Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| Range Rover Velar | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 21 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| Range Rover Velar P300 | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| Range Rover MHEV Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Range Rover Sport MHEV Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Range Rover Velar P380 | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| Range Rover Velar | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| Range Rover PHEV Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 42 MPGe (18 MPG) | 42 MPGe (21 MPG) | 42 MPGe (19 MPG) | 19 mi EV (480 mi total) | $4,000 / yr |
| Range Rover Sport PHEV Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 42 MPGe (18 MPG) | 42 MPGe (21 MPG) | 42 MPGe (19 MPG) | 19 mi EV (480 mi total) | $4,000 / yr |
| Range Rover Sport | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 17 MPG | 22 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Range Rover | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 16 MPG | 21 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| Range Rover LWB | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 16 MPG | 21 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| Range Rover Velar | 5L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| Range Rover SVA | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 14 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Range Rover Sport SVR | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Range Rover LWB SVA | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 13 MPG | 19 MPG | 15 MPG | — | $5,050 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Land Rover Range Rover models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover?
Summary of 22 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Land Rover Range Rover problems & component breakdown (14 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC (Land Rover) is recalling certain 2018-2022 Range Rover and Range Rover Sport vehicles equipped with a Surround Camera System. Water may enter into the rearview camera, which can cause the rearview camera image not to appear on the display or display a distorted image. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Defect Summary: Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC (Land Rover) is recalling certain 2019-2021 Land Rover Range Rover PHEV and 2019-2022 Land Rover Range Rover Sport PHEV vehicles. The water pump pulley drive belt may become damaged or detach, which can allow the engine to overheat. An overheated engine can rupture the engine coolant elbow pipe, leaking coolant onto the turbocharger heat shield.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover
How many safety recalls does the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover have?
The 2020 Land Rover Range Rover is associated with 6 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover?
NHTSA records list 22 consumer defect complaints for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 5 filings (23% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2020 Land Rover Range Rover range from 15 to 24 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.