Defect Summary: Lucid USA, Inc. (Lucid) is recalling certain 2022-2026 Air vehicles equipped with an AD02 package and operating a software version from 2.8.0 through 2.8.16. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2022 Lucid Air is associated with 23 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 14 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Air Bags, accounting for 2 reports (9% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 111 to 131 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 451–520 miles across 6 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 23 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 14 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Air Bags (2 / 9%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 5 crash / 0 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 111 MPGe across 6 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2022 Lucid Air?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air G Touring AWD w/19 inch wheels 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 130 MPGe | 132 MPGe | 131 MPGe | 516 mi | $600 / yr |
| Air Dream R AWD w/19 inch wheels 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 126 MPGe | 125 MPGe | 125 MPGe | 520 mi | $600 / yr |
| Air G Touring AWD w/21 inch wheels 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 121 MPGe | 122 MPGe | 121 MPGe | 469 mi | $650 / yr |
| Air Dream P AWD w/19 inch wheels 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 117 MPGe | 114 MPGe | 116 MPGe | 471 mi | $650 / yr |
| Air Dream R AWD w/21 inch wheels 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 115 MPGe | 117 MPGe | 116 MPGe | 481 mi | $650 / yr |
| Air Dream P AWD w/21 inch wheels 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 110 MPGe | 111 MPGe | 111 MPGe | 451 mi | $700 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2022 Lucid Air?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2022 Lucid Air.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2022 Lucid Air models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2022 Lucid Air?
Summary of 23 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2022 Lucid Air problems & component breakdown (17 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2022 Lucid Air?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Lucid USA, Inc. (Lucid) is recalling certain 2022-2025 Air vehicles operating a software version prior to 2.8.0. The lower console display may fail to show a rearview camera image or may show a delayed, inaccurate image of what is behind the vehicle. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Defect Summary: Lucid USA, Inc. (Lucid) is recalling certain 2022-2023 Air vehicles. When a hardware communication fault is detected, the High Voltage Interlock (HVIL) software could disconnect the high voltage contactors while the vehicle is in motion, causing a loss of drive power.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2022 Lucid Air
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2022 Lucid Air
How many safety recalls does the 2022 Lucid Air have?
The 2022 Lucid Air is associated with 14 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2022 Lucid Air?
NHTSA records list 23 consumer defect complaints for the 2022 Lucid Air. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Air Bags, appearing in 2 filings (9% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2022 Lucid Air?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2022 Lucid Air in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2022 Lucid Air?
The all-electric 2022 Lucid Air is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 451 to 520 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 131 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.