Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2020-2021 S90, 2020-2022 S60, V60, XC60, XC90, and 2022 V90 plug-in hybrid vehicles. The high-voltage battery may experience a short circuit within the battery module when the battery is fully charged and the vehicle is parked.
The 2020 Volvo XC60 is associated with 22 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 3 reports (14% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 23 to 24 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 57 MPGe (27 MPG on gasoline) with up to 19 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 22 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Electrical System (3 / 14%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 0 crash / 0 fire / 2 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 23–24 MPG (4 variants • PHEV up to 57 MPGe)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Volvo XC60?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XC60 AWD PHEV Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 56 MPGe (26 MPG) | 57 MPGe (28 MPG) | 57 MPGe (27 MPG) | 19 mi EV (520 mi total) | $2,800 / yr |
| XC60 FWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 29 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $3,150 / yr |
| XC60 AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 20 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| XC60 AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 20 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Volvo XC60?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Volvo XC60.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Volvo XC60 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Volvo XC60?
Summary of 22 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Volvo XC60 problems & component breakdown (15 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Volvo XC60?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2022 V60CC, XC60, and XC90 vehicles. During steering gear assembly, double screws may have been assembled on top of each other, which can cause a screw to fall into the gearbox housing.
Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2021 S90L, 2020-2021 XC60, and XC90 vehicles. An improperly welded rotor and shaft may separate within the integrated brake system.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.