Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2021-2025 XC40, 2022 V90, 2022-2024 C40BEV, 2022-2025 S90, V90CC, XC60, 2023-2025 S60, V60, V60CC, XC90, and 2025 EC40, and EX40 vehicles. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2024 Volvo XC60 is associated with 23 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Back Over Prevention / Camera, accounting for 3 reports (13% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2L 4-Cyl hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 25 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 63 MPGe (28 MPG on gasoline) with up to 36 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 23 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Back Over Prevention / Camera (3 / 13%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 4 crash / 0 fire / 1 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 25–25 MPG across 2 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2024 Volvo XC60?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XC60 T8 AWD Recharge Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 66 MPGe (28 MPG) | 60 MPGe (28 MPG) | 63 MPGe (28 MPG) | 36 mi EV (560 mi total) | $2,700 / yr |
| XC60 B5 AWD Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 28 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2024 Volvo XC60?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2024 Volvo XC60.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2024 Volvo XC60 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2024 Volvo XC60?
Summary of 23 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2024 Volvo XC60 problems & component breakdown (16 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2024 Volvo XC60?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2021-2025 XC40, 2022 V90, 2022-2025 S90, V90CC, C40, XC60, 2023-2025 S60, V60, V60CC, XC90, and 2025 EC40 and EX40 vehicles. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2024 Volvo XC60
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2024 Volvo XC60
How many safety recalls does the 2024 Volvo XC60 have?
The 2024 Volvo XC60 is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2024 Volvo XC60?
NHTSA records list 23 consumer defect complaints for the 2024 Volvo XC60. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Back Over Prevention / Camera, appearing in 3 filings (13% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2024 Volvo XC60?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2024 Volvo XC60 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2024 Volvo XC60 get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2024 Volvo XC60 range from 25 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.