Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric is associated with 54 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.

The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 30 reports (56% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 120 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 258 miles across 1 certified vehicle configuration. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 54 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (30 / 56%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 2 fire / 1 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 120 MPGe across 1 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Kona Electric 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 132 MPGe 108 MPGe 120 MPGe 258 mi $650 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 258 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric models.
View complete 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Summary of 54 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
54
Crash Reports
2
Fire Reports
2
Complaints w/ Injury
1
Total Injuries
1

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 30 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM 5 complaints
Fuel & Propulsion System 3 complaints
Powertrain 2 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,ENGINE 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric problems & component breakdown (18 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #21V127000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:PROPULSION SYSTEM:TRACTION BATTERY

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric and 2020 Ioniq Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised to park their vehicles outside and away from structures until the interim action is complete. Hyundai will notify owners, and as an interim action, owners have the option to follow provided instructions to perform a battery update through the vehicle's infotainment system or request a Hyundai dealer to provide the update. Once parts are available, dealers will inspect the Battery System Assembly (BSA), and replace it if necessary. Repairs will be performed free of charge. Owners were notified of the safety risk, and the interim action, with a letter mailed April 9, 2021. Final owner notification letters were mailed June 17, 2021. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 200.
NHTSA Campaign #20V630000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:PROPULSION SYSTEM:TRACTION BATTERY:MANAGEMENT SYSTEM/ENERGY CONTROL MODULE (BMS/BECM):SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the Battery Management System (BMS) software and inspect the Li-ion battery, replacing it if necessary, free of charge. Owners are advised to park their vehicles outside and away from structures until the repair is complete. The recall began November 13, 2020. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 196.
NHTSA Campaign #20V748000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:ELECTRIC:CONTROL MODULE:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Nexo Fuel Cell and 2019-2021 Kona Electric vehicles. The Integrated Electronic Brake (IEB) system may detect an abnormal sensor signal and as a result, may significantly reduce braking performance.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the IEB software, free of charge. The recall began January 25, 2021. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 199.
View all 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric

How many safety recalls does the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric have?

The 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

NHTSA records list 54 consumer defect complaints for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 30 filings (56% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric?

The all-electric 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 258 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 120 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.