Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric has zero owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.

EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 120 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 258 miles across 1 certified vehicle configuration. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 120 MPGe across 1 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Kona Electric 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 132 MPGe 108 MPGe 120 MPGe 258 mi $600 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 258 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric models.
View complete 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #22V941000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:PROPULSION SYSTEM:TRACTION BATTERY:THERMAL MANAGEMENT:FLUID/COOLANT

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2021 Kona EV vehicles. The Electric Power Control Unit (EPCU) may have been improperly sealed and may leak coolant internally.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and replace the EPCU, as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed March 22, 2023. A second notice will be sent once the final remedy is available. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 239.
NHTSA Campaign #20V748000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:ELECTRIC:CONTROL MODULE:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Nexo Fuel Cell and 2019-2021 Kona Electric vehicles. The Integrated Electronic Brake (IEB) system may detect an abnormal sensor signal and as a result, may significantly reduce braking performance.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the IEB software, free of charge. The recall began January 25, 2021. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 199.
View all 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric recalls & campaign history (2 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric

How many safety recalls does the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric have?

The 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric?

The all-electric 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 258 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 120 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.