Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric has 15 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database.

The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 4 reports (27% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 116 to 118 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 200–261 miles across 2 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 15 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (4 / 27%)
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 116 MPGe across 2 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Kona Electric Standard Range 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 131 MPGe 105 MPGe 118 MPGe 200 mi $650 / yr
Kona Electric Long Range 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 129 MPGe 103 MPGe 116 MPGe 261 mi $650 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 261 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric models.
View complete 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Summary of 15 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
15
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 4 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,EXTERIOR LIGHTING 2 complaints
Connected Vehicle & Communications 1 complaint
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,LANE DEPARTURE,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE 1 complaint
ENGINE,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric problems & component breakdown (11 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric.

View all 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric

How many safety recalls does the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric have?

AutoUtility's current federal dataset records zero official NHTSA safety recall campaigns for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric.

Recall records can change as manufacturers and NHTSA publish or update campaign notices.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

NHTSA records list 15 consumer defect complaints for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 4 filings (27% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric?

The all-electric 2024 Hyundai Kona Electric is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 200 to 261 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 118 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.