Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric has 20 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database.

The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 9 reports (45% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 120 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 258 miles across 1 certified vehicle configuration. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 20 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (9 / 45%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 1 crash / 0 fire / 0 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 120 MPGe across 1 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Kona Electric 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 132 MPGe 108 MPGe 120 MPGe 258 mi $650 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 258 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric models.
View complete 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Summary of 20 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
20
Crash Reports
1
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 9 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,ENGINE 2 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,SERVICE BRAKES 1 complaint
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,UNKNOWN OR OTHER 1 complaint
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,VISIBILITY/WIPER 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric problems & component breakdown (8 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric.

View all 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric

How many safety recalls does the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric have?

AutoUtility's current federal dataset records zero official NHTSA safety recall campaigns for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric.

Recall records can change as manufacturers and NHTSA publish or update campaign notices.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

NHTSA records list 20 consumer defect complaints for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 9 filings (45% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric?

The all-electric 2022 Hyundai Kona Electric is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 258 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 120 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.