Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2025 Kona Electric and 2026 Kona vehicles. The seat belt buckle in the rear center seat may fail to properly restrain an occupant during a crash.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric is associated with 1 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 1 reports (100% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 103 to 118 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 200–261 miles across 3 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 1 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 official campaign
- • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (1 / 100%)
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 103 MPGe across 3 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kona Electric Standard Range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 131 MPGe | 105 MPGe | 118 MPGe | 200 mi | $650 / yr |
| Kona Electric (17 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 129 MPGe | 103 MPGe | 116 MPGe | 261 mi | $650 / yr |
| Kona Electric (19 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 113 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 103 MPGe | 230 mi | $700 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Summary of 1 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric problems & component breakdown (1 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric
How many safety recalls does the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric have?
The 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric is associated with 1 official NHTSA safety recall campaign in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
NHTSA records list 1 consumer defect complaint for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 1 filings (100% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric?
The all-electric 2025 Hyundai Kona Electric is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 200 to 261 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 118 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.