Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric and 2020 Ioniq Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.
The 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric is associated with 181 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Engine, accounting for 81 reports (45% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 123 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 258 miles across 1 certified vehicle configuration. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 181 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Engine (81 / 45%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 9 crash / 3 fire / 7 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 123 MPGe (1 variant)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kona Electric 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 137 MPGe | 109 MPGe | 123 MPGe | 258 mi | $600 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Summary of 181 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric problems & component breakdown (46 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.
Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Nexo Fuel Cell and 2019-2021 Kona Electric vehicles. The Integrated Electronic Brake (IEB) system may detect an abnormal sensor signal and as a result, may significantly reduce braking performance.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.